The nature of looking beholds many aspects. We look to recognize, we look to see differences, we look to see ourselves.
I had never been to Louvre, or Centre Pompidou – or even the l´orangerie (however, cameras were abandoned there) so I myself was very curious. What would I get to see? I had great expectations about the Pompidou´s collection of Picasso, Miró, and delightfully surprised – Yves Klein.
But not only the paintings caught my attention; the other people looking at them were just as fascinating.
Maybe there is nothing new to it, but I found the large number of museum guests carrying a camera interesting. People seemed obsessed with capturing the art, which, to me, is a bit Ironic. The photographs of the paintings we can find in the museum shop or online, but standing in front of the piece itself and be embraced by the presence of the artist can´t be captured by a camera. Do we need our shots for Facebook to show off? I´m not sure…
Next to all the cameras are people who let themselves into the art, they gaze, they wonder, they might look deep deep into themselves, or they might react irrationally excited. Just take a look below…


Fuzz in front of Mona Lisa. Below: This little girl, no older than 5 years old gazed at the light installations in Centre Pompidou.



This was lovely; On the back of the wall, which held Mona Lisa, were these to ladies practicing their technique.

Caption. Asian tourists mostly walk around in large groups, here seen in the Louvre. Above, a couple getting up close with an iPad in Centre Pompidou.


KLEIN-Krazy. The electric, magnificent, none-a-like Klein-blue by Yves Klein. Even I would start “flying” as the man above did.

