DSC_0152.cutA picture of a graphical work my Mum did for her shop.

I sit here and look at another sunset from my terrace. I sit outside, with bare feet, and my skin covered with a thin layer of salt after a few hours on the beach. I can see the ocean from here, the big Atlantic Ocean. I can see the Island of Montserrat, and the volcano covered in clouds. The sky is on fire; a strong orange horizon with dark clouds heavy of rain resting on top of it. The hills that embrace Falmouth Harbour are black as coal, and I wonder: can I live without this? Do I want to live without it? Even people born on the island talk about how beautiful it is here. I think about it every day. A blue morning sky, the lush greens, the big hills, the blue ocean, the sun shimmering in the surface of the water on a breezy day. A sunset that paints the sky in crazy colours. I ponder upon how much it influences me, and how fondly I feel of this place.
Sometimes when I really love someone or some place I find it difficult to really enjoy it. Because when will I lose it all again?
Now the dark clouds seem to melt into the horizon, and only little of the orange bang is left. The light from the tall masts shine like fallen stars.
Human kind are silly sometimes, I guess. Because what comes after a lost love? A new one…

Jeg sidder og kigger ud over endnu en solnedgang. Udenfor med bare fødder, og huden dækket af et tyndt lag salt efter et par timer på stranden. Jeg kan se havet herfra, det store Atlanterhav. Jeg kan se øen Montserrat, og vulkanen derovre er dækket af skyer. Himlen er i brand: horisonten er orange med mørke, regnfulde skyer hvilende oven over. De store bakker, der omkranser Falmouth Harbour, er sorte som kul, og det slår mig: kan jeg leve uden alt dette? Har jeg lyst til at leve uden det? Selv mennesker, der er født på øen, snakker om hvor smukt her er. Jeg tænker på det hver dag. En blå morgenhimmel, alle de frodige, grønne vækster, de store bakker, det blå hav, solen der glimter i overfladen på vandet. En solnedgang, der maler himlen i vilde farver. Jeg grubler over, hvor meget det betyder for mig, og hvor meget jeg holder af det her sted.
Nogle gange når jeg virkelig elsker nogen eller noget, kan jeg have svært ved at nyde det. For hvornår vil det blive taget fra mig igen?
Nu er de mørke skyer smeltet sammen med horisonten, og kun en lille smule orange er tilbage. Lyset fra de enorme master lyser som faldne stjerner.

Mennesker er tossede nogle gange, tænker jeg. For hvad kommer der efter man mister en kærlighed? En ny én…

